Silver Lake Council welcomes new member, praises departing leader

Christopher Scott rejoins legislative body; Jerry Jones was council's president since 2009

Phil Keren
Kent Weeklies
Christopher Scott, right, is sworn in to office as Silver Lake Village Council's new at-large member by Mayor Bernie Hovey at village hall on Monday, Dec. 21. Scott was appointed by council to serve in the post being vacated by Jerry Jones. (Submitted Photo)

SILVER LAKE — A familiar face will join village council at the start of 2021.

Village Council on Monday, Dec. 21, appointed Christopher Scott to serve as its new at-large member. Scott will replace Council President Jerry Jones, who is stepping down from the post effective Dec. 31.

Scott, who served on council for 12 years as a District A representative, was sworn into office by Mayor Bernie Hovey.

"Thank you all for me allowing me to come back," said Scott following the swearing-in ceremony.

Jones told Scott he was "glad to have you take my seat."

After the meeting, Scott said it was an "honor" to be selected to serve the remainder of Jones' term, which expires Dec. 31, 2023.

"I decided to come back after several people requested that I consider applying for the vacancy," said Scott. "It has been three years since I left council and I felt that it was an opportunity to get back involved with helping make and keep Silver Lake a wonderful place to live."

Silver Lake Village Council President Jerry Jones, left, and Councilman Bill Church, both at-large, are pictured during a council meeting before the COVID-19 pandemic. Jones, who has served on village council since 2006, is stepping down from the legislative body at the end of the year. Jones attended his final meeting as a council member on Dec. 21. At that same meeting, council appointed Christopher Scott to fill the remainder of Jones' term.

Council bids farewell to longtime leader

Council on Dec. 7 approved Jones' resignation. Jones announced at a meeting in October that he would resign from council and he submitted a written resignation notice to Village Clerk-Treasurer Sean Housley on Nov. 30. 

"It's been a lot of fun," said Jones at Monday's meeting. "It's just time to move on…I'll miss all of you, but I'll be seeing you around."

At both meetings in December, Jones' colleagues praised him for his service to the village.

"I really appreciate your service and your leadership," stated Council member Therese Dunphy (District B).

Council member Bill Church (at-large) said it had been "an incredible experience" to serve on the legislative body with Jones. Church thanked Jones and added, "I learned a lot from you. I appreciate it."

Council Vice President Betsy Meyer (at-large) credited Jones with getting her involved in local government.

"I really appreciate everything you've taught me," said Meyer.

Council member Tim Nichols (District C) also thanked Jones, noting the council leader had a "tremendous service record."

Hovey added Jones' dedication to public service was "outstanding," and delivered a proclamation to honor the outgoing council president.

Jones joined village council in April 2006 and has served as its president since January 2009. Prior to serving on village council, Jones was mayor of the city of Munroe Falls, where he also served on the then-village of Munroe Falls Council for eight years. He also served on Cuyahoga Falls City Council.

Replacement process

A total of 11 residents applied for the at-large post. In addition to Scott, the other applicants were: Bonnie Bray; Rebecca Brockmeyer; Shelley Jurkiewicz; Anthony Karam; Annmarie Lann; Andy Myers; Dana Myers; Justin Ramos; David Via; and Courtney Zimmerman.

A special council committee chaired by Dunphy interviewed the candidates on Dec. 9 and Dec. 10. Dunphy said she and her fellow committee members — Council members Matt Plesich (District D) and Nichols narrowed the field to Scott, Via and Brockmeyer, and conducted a second interview of those candidates Dec. 15. The committee recommended that council appoint Scott to the at-large post.

"We had an impressive roster of candidates who each offered their own unique areas of expertise and insights," said Dunphy. "Their shared desire to serve village residents is deeply appreciated. Ultimately, Chris’ experience will allow him to seamlessly rejoin council and hit the ground running on day one."

Reporter Phil Keren can be reached at, or on Twitter at @keren_phil.