Students at Asian Sun in Hudson have spent months preparing for the Amateur Athletic Union Taekwondo National competition, which took place June 30-July 6 at the Fort Lauderdale Convention Center.

After qualifying for the national competition at state competitions, athletes traveled to Florida in order to test their skills.

The competition allowed athletes to compete in a range of events, including Olympic-style sparring, forms and weapons forms. The competition was fierce with more than 2,000 athletes competing from around the world.

Forms’ competitors were able to compete in a variety of forms styles, including Tang Soo Do, World Taekwondo, International Taekwondo Federation and an open category.

In the sparring competition, Gold medals were awarded to Stewart Crighton, Master Ryan Bell, Master Anja Gardziola, Master Elliot Grove, Megan Diulus and Maria Savarino.

Silver medals were awarded to Roman Felber and Ron Slechta. Bronze medals were awarded to Virginia Adams, Cash Felber, Hudson resident Lance Hill, Master Jeff Heerema, Isaiah Turner, Conner Heckman, Adriane Lawes, Makenna Erhard and Kaiden Capeles.

In the forms competition, Gold medals were awarded to Mia Felber, Erika Schmitt, Grant Bogdansky, Aaryana Sethi, Stephanie Mossop, Hudson resident Jesse Green, Jessica Tackett, Suk Shanafelt, Jen Heerema and Renee Crighton.

Silver medals were awarded to Maclaine Bell, Brady McCreery, Grant Bogdansky, Aaryana Sethi, Jesse Green, and Renee Crighton. Bronze medals were awarded to Maria Savarino, Brady McCreery, Sean Crighton, Aaryana Sethi, Stephanie Mossop, and Jessica Tackett.

Asian Sun was awarded a championship cup for being one of the top three schools producing the most overall medals in the forms competition.

Asian Sun also was awarded a championship cup for being one of the top three schools, producing the most overall medals in the sparring competition.

Asian Sun has nine schools, located in Aurora, Beachwood, Broadview, Green, Hudson, Medina, Montrose, Tallmadge and Wadsworth. For more information about Asian Sun, visit or call 330-650-6333.

For more information on AAU Taekwondo and for complete competition results, visit

From left to right: First Row: Mia Felber, Maclaine Bell, Sean Crighton, Jen Heerema, Grandmaster Ryan Andrachik, Nadia Andrachik, Alexia Andrachik, Guisuk Shanafelt, Grant Bogdanski, Erica Schmitt

Second Row: Maria Savarino, Stephanie Mossop, Jessica Tackett, Aryana Sethi, Brady McCreery, Karen Andrachik, Vincie Ripepi, Jesse Green

Third Row: Stewart Crighton, Rowan Crighton, Mark Adams, Ryan Bell, Ryan Heerema, Virgina Adams, Izzy Collyer, Noah Shanafelt, Cash Felber, Roman Felber, Trina Felber, Josh Felber

Fourth Row: Marty Collyer, Mike Shanafelt, Lisa Schmitt, Daniel Mossop, Anthony Foti, Bill Barnick, Nick Foti, Jeff Hereema, Kristy Collyer, Victoria Ripepi