HUDSON —After being unable to decide on who to appoint to a vacancy on its body, city council now plans to ask voters to select a new At Large member in a special election this fall.

Council President Bill Wooldredge (At Large) said that a majority of council’s six members were unable to agree on the appointment to replace Dr. J. Daniel Williams, who resigned from his At Large post March 20. Per the city charter, council had 60 days from WIlliams’ last day to fill the vacancy. Since the position was not filled in that time frame, council is now following the charter’s requirement that a special election be held to select the new member.

Council on Tuesday night unanimously approved directing city staff to draw up a resolution calling for a special election for the At Large seat on Nov. 3. Council is expected to vote on that resolution at its meeting on June 2.

Candidates would have until Sept. 4 to file to run for the At Large seat. The candidates must be registered voters who have lived in the city for "at least two continuous years immediately preceding the date of election," the charter states.

The winner of the special election this fall would serve the remainder of the At Large term, which expires Dec. 7, 2021.The new council member would have to run for office again in November 2021 to earn a four-year term.

Initially, 20 people applied to fill the vacancy created by Williams’ resignation. City spokesperson Jody Roberts said that two of the applicants were not eligible, one who did not meet the residency requirement and one who was not a qualified elector.

The 18 qualified applicants were: Karen Arshinkoff; Robert Cain; Anna Coopersmith; Mike Dostal; Mary Haneline; Jody Innamorato; Michael Juppe; Robert Kahrl; Geoffrey Korff; Nicole Kowalski; Tracy Lewis; Sherif Mansour; Roy Marschke; Sarah Norman; Shane Reid; William Twigg; Todd Zedak; and Colleen Ziemke.

Roberts said Arshinkoff and Ziemke withdrew from the field.

Applicants recorded a five-minute video presentation at Town Hall, council members reviewed those recordings and narrowed the field to eight, according to Wooldredge.

Roberts said the eight finalists were: Dostal, Haneline, Juppe, Korff, Kowalski, Lewis, Marschke and Norman.

Wooldredge added that council then interviewed the eight finalists through the Zoom platform. Under the charter, at least four of the six members would’ve needed to agree on who they would select as the appointee, but a majority was not able to come to an agreement, said Wooldredge.

Wooldredge noted that since council’s discussions about the candidates occurred in executive sessions, he could not offer any details on those talks.

Reporter Phil Keren can be reached at 330-541-9421,, or on Twitter at @keren_phil.