Aurora Mayor Ann Womer Benjamin has been named president of the Mayors Association of Portage, Stark & Summit counties. She replaces Mayor Bill Goncy of Boston Heights and is the first mayor to lead the organization who is not from Summit County. Portage and Stark joined the association in 2015. She will serve a 2-year term.

The other officers of MAPSS, who will also serve 2-year terms are: Mayor William Judge of Barberton, vice president; Mayor Dave Kline of Tallmadge, treasurer; and Mayor Ted Yates of Twinsburg, secretary.

MAPSS is a nonprofit, nonpartisan, association compromised of the mayors of the cities and villages in the 3 counties. Its mission is to work together to: Promote the development of effective civic policy, strengthen cross-community relationships that lead to growth and improved efficiencies, provide input to state and federal officials on critical issues facing communities and create a forum and trusted network for local officials to share information, experiences, opportunities and challenges.