Partisan hopefuls for federal, state and county elected offices have turned in their petitions for the March 17, 2020 primary election.

The deadline to submit the paperwork with the Summit County Board of Elections was Wednesday at 4 p.m.

Seven Republicans are seeking their party’s nomination to challenge Democratic incumbent Tim Ryan for the U.S. House’s 13th Congressional District race: Christina M. Hagan; Duane Hennen; Louis G. Lyras; Richard A. Morckel; Jason Mormando; Robert J. Santos; and Donald Truex. One Libertarian, Michael Fricke, also submitted petitions for the race.

In the Ohio Senate’s 28th District race, Republican Michael Scott Downey and Democratic incumbent Vernon Sykes have filed to run.

In the Ohio House’s 34th District competition, Democrat incumbent Emilia Sykes and Republican Henry Morgan Todd, Jr. have submitted petitions.

In the Ohio House’s 36th District race, Democrats A.J. Harris and Matt Shaughnessy, and Republican Bob Young have handed in the appropriate paperwork.

The current 36th District representative, Republican Anthony DeVitis, has filed to run for the Summit County Council District 8 race.

In the Ohio House’s 37th District competition, Republican Beth Bigham and Democratic incumbent Casey Weinstein have filed to run.

In the Ohio House’s 38th District race, Democrat Joe Campbell and Republican incumbent Bill Roemer have turned in their paperwork to vie for office.

For Ninth District Court of Appeals Judge, Republican incumbent Julie A. Schafer and Democrat Betty Sutton have submitted petitions.

For Summit County Executive, Republican John E. Chapman and Democratic incumbent Ilene Shapiro filed to run. 

In the Summit County Prosecutor’s race, Democratic incumbent Sherri Bevan Walsh and Republican Michael B. Washington have filed to run. Democratic incumbent Sandra Kurt and Republican Mike Rasor are throwing their hats in the ring for Summit County Clerk of Courts.

There are four Democrats — Kandy Fatheree, Pat Hunt, Sr., John R. Peake, Sr., and Dale A. Soltis — competing for their party’s nomination for Summit County Sheriff. One Republican — Shane R. Barker — has filed to run for sheriff. Current Summit County Sheriff Steve Barry, a Democrat, did not file for re-election.

Republican Jay F. Iula and Democratic incumbent Kristen M. Scalise submitted petitions to run for Summit County Fiscal Officer.

Summit County Engineer Alan Brubaker, a Democrat, is the only one who turned in petitions to run for county engineer.

In six of the eight county council races, one Democrat and one Republican have filed. Here are the hopefuls who turned in their petitions to run for Summit County Council:

District 1: Rita Darrow (D), incumbent Ron Koehler (R)

District 2: Albert Jeremiah Gates (R), incumbent John Schmidt (D)

District 3: Louis G. Berroteran (D), incumbent Gloria J. Rodgers (R)

District 4: incumbent Jeff Wilhite (D)

District 5: Rick Cugini (D), Bridget D. Hodoh (D), Veronica Sims (D), and Richard Joseph Wilson (R)

District 6: incumbent Jerry E. Feeman (D), Tyler Paul Roberts (R)

District 7: Bob Genet (D), incumbent Bethany McKenney (R)

District 8: Anthony DeVitis (R), incumbent Paula Prentice (D)

District 5 is the one district that is guaranteed to have a new member. District 5 county council member David Hamilton won election to an Akron Municipal Court Judge post in November.

Summit County Commons Pleas Court judges Tammy O’Brien (R), Kelly L. McLaughlin (D), Alison McCarty (R), Mary Margaret Rowlands (D), Christine Croce (R), and Joy Malek Oldfield (D), Summit County Juvenile Court Judge Linda Tucci Teodosio (D) and Summit County Probate Court Judge Elinore Marsh Stormer have all filed to run for re-election to their posts. No one else submitted petitions to run against them.

Incumbent Republican Katarina Vujic Cook and two Democrats — Kani Hightower and Margaret Scott — have filed to run for Summit County Domestic Relations Judge. 

If more than one member of the same political party is running for the same office, the primary election on March 17, 2020 will determine which person earns the party’s nomination and advances to the November ballot. If one member of a political party has filed to run for an office, they will advance to the November ballot if their petitions are certified by the Summit County Board of Elections.

Issues on March ballot

Summit Metro Parks is requesting approval of a 1.46-mill replacement levy and a new .54-mill levy to pay for "maintenance, operation, conservation and improvement" of trails and park properties.

In Cuyahoga Falls Ward 2, Precinct A, T.S. Dining Group, L.L.C., dba Butcher and Sprout, is requesting permission to sell wine and mixed beverages and spirituous liquor on Sundays between 10 a.m. and midnight. The business is located at 1846 Front Street, Suite A, 1st floor & patio.

The Aurora City School District is seeking renewal of a 5.61-mill levy for five years.

Reporter Phil Keren can be reached at 330-541-9421,, or on Twitter at @keren_phil.