STOW — Six new faces will be seated on City Council and two new ones on the Stow-Munroe Falls Board of Education with the new year following Tuesday’s election results.

Six of the seven council seats were term limited this year, as was the city’s finance director’s position. However, incumbent Bob Adaska in Ward 4, the only seat not facing the term limit, chose not to run for re-election. 

The only returning member will be Sindi Harrison in Ward 2, who held off three challengers in seeking election to her first full term. She was appointed to the seat earlier this year, to fill the vacancy after then-Ward 2 Councilman Jim Costello was appointed to fill the at-large seat which opened up with then-Councilman John Pribonic’s election to mayor.

According to final but unofficial results from the Summit County Board of Elections, Harrison garnered 985 votes to Tom McKinney’s 487; Chuck Obendorf’s 335; and James Andrassy’s 198.

In the at-large race, taking the three seats on council will be Jeremy McIntire (3,449 votes), Cyle Feldman (3,047) and Christina Shaw (2,526). Rounding out the field were Brad Ruth (2,404), Kelly Toppin (2,345) and Traci Person (2,117).

In Ward 1, Dennis Altieri won with 1,088 votes to David Licate’s 719.

Steve Hailer ran unopposed for the Ward 3 spot. In Ward 4, Mario Fiocca won with 926 votes to Denise Tonelli’s 775.

All council posts carry two-year terms.

Jim Costello will be the city’s finance director with 3,871 votes; his opponent, Elgie M. Underwood, received 2,896 votes.

For the law director position, Jaime Marie Syx  was elected with 3,054 votes; her challengers were Susan K. Steinhauer (2,119) and Dan J. Weisenburger (1,382).

Law Director Brendan Mackin — who was appointed to replace Amber Zibritosky after she was selected to be the clerk of courts for Stow Municipal Court — was not eligible to run for the position because he does not live in the city.

Both the finance director and law director offices carry four-year terms.

One post that will not change in Stow is mayor. Pribonic ran unopposed for a full four-year term. Pribonic was elected last November to fill out the unexpired term of former Mayor Sara Kline, after she resigned to take a position in Cuyahoga Falls.

Board of education seats

In the race for three seats on the Stow-Munroe Falls Board of Education, the winners were Jessica Wright (4,182 votes), Nancy Brown (3,924) and incumbent Lisa Johnson-Bowers (3,685). The other two candidates were Antoinette East-Jenkins (2,730) and Eddie Norman (2,349). These tallies included final but unofficial results from both Summit County and Portage County boards of elections.

Incumbents David Licate and Kelly Toppin did not run for re-election, opting instead to seek Stow City Council seats. Neither were successful in their bids.