MUNROE FALLS — Two incumbents and a familiar name from the past won election to three available Cy Council seats on Tuesday.

In the race for two at-large seats, incumbent John Hegnauer earned re-election with 893 votes, while challenger Frank Larson narrowly edged fellow challenger John Impellizzeri by a tally of 603-590, according to final but unofficial results from the Summit County Board of Elections. 

Larson previously served as the mayor of Munroe Falls. He was defeated by current Mayor James Armstrong in the November 2015 election.

The other current at-large council member — Jenny Markovich — decided against seeking re-election this year.

In the Ward 2 City Council race, incumbent Chris Ritzinger defeated challenger James D. Smith by a count of 225-192.

The new four-year council terms start on Jan. 1, 2020.

The council president earns $5,600 annually, while the other council members receive $4,400 per year.

Reporter Phil Keren can be reached at 330-541-9421,, or on Twitter at @keren_phil.