With the filing deadline coming up early next month, more hopefuls have submitted their petitions for the upcoming Stow and Munroe Falls mayoral, city council and board of education races.

All seven seats on Stow City Council (four ward spots and three At-Large positions) are up for election in November. Because the city no longer holds a primary, all names of individuals with certified petitions will appear on the November ballot.

Two of the four At-Large positions on Munroe Falls City Council are up for election in the fall. Those positions are currently held by John Hegnauer and Jenny Malkovich; the latter has stated she is not seeking re-election. The two At-Large positions that are not up for election are held by Mike Barnes and Jim Iona. Wards 1 (Gary Toth) and 3 (Allen Mavrides) in Munroe Falls are not up for election this fall.

There are three Board of Education seats up for election in November. Those seats are now held by Lisa Johnson-Bowers, David Licate and Kelly Toppin.

The deadline to file for any of the offices listed above is Aug. 7 at 4 p.m.

For both the Stow and Munroe Falls mayoral and city council races, hopefuls must obtain between 50 and 150 signatures of registered voters in the city (for mayor and At-Large races) or in their ward (for the ward races). For the Board of Education races, hopefuls must secure between 75 and 225 signatures of registered voters in the school district. The board of elections must then certify the petitions before they can be included on the ballot.

According to the Summit County Board of Elections, here is a list of the hopefuls who have pulled petitions for the various Stow and Munroe Falls city offices. The list also indicates which hopefuls have now filed their petitions:

? Stow Mayor: John Pribonic (filed)

? Stow Finance Director: James Costello (filed)

? Stow Director of Law: David Drew, Jamie Syx (filed), Danny Weisenburger (filed)

? Stow City Council At-Large (3 seats): Mario Fiocca; Cyle Feldman; Jeremy C. McIntire; Christina Shaw; Kelly Toppin; Traci Person; Janet Denise Tonelli and Brad Ruth (filed)

? Stow City Council Ward 1: David Licate, Denny D. Alteri (filed)

? Stow City Council Ward 2: Thompson McKinney (filed), Sindi Harrison (filed), James Andrassy, Charles Obendorf

? Stow City Council Ward 3: Stephen Hailer (filed)

? Stow City Council Ward 4: Bob Adaska, Tiffany Leach

? Munroe Falls Mayor: Mike Barnes (filed), James W. Armstrong (filed)

? Munroe Falls City Council At-Large (2 seats): John Impellizzeri (filed), John Hegnauer

? Munroe Falls City Council Ward 2: None

? Stow-Munroe Falls Board of Education (3 seats): Lisa Johnson-Bowers, Nancy Brown (filed), Antoinette East-Jenkins, Eddie Norman

The deadlines to file for the municipal court positions have passed. The following filled their petitions earlier this year:

? Stow Municipal Court Judge: Kim R. Hoover, John Chapman, Tania Nemer

? Stow Municipal Court Clerk: Jeff Iula, Bradford Chapman, Steve Stahl, Amber Zibritosky, Traci Cirullo

Reporter Phil Keren can be reached at 330-541-9421, pkeren@recordpub.com, or on Twitter at @keren_phil.