TWINSBURG — The deadline for local residents to file to run for city council, township trustee and board of education seats that are up for election this fall is approaching.

Residents who plan to run for positions must turn in an appropriate number of valid voter signatures on their petitions to the Summit County Board of Elections by Aug. 7.

The seat occupied by Twinsburg Councilman-at-Large Bill Furey and those occupied by Sam Scaffide (Ward 1), Brian Steele (Ward 2) and Jo-Ann McFearin (Ward 3) will be on the fall ballot.

Mayor Ted Yates and Steele already filed to run for mayor. They were the only two to file prior to the May primary election and thus will proceed on to the general election.

At the township level, the seats of Trustee James Balogh and Fiscal Officer Tania Johnson are up for election, as are the seats of Board of Education members Mark Curtis and Matt Cellura. The latter is currently Board president.

In Reminderville, a mayoral election will take place. Sam Alonso is the current mayor. There also are two Council seats open — those of Rod Wiggins and Ernie Petrovich.

For anyone wishing to file petitions, the Board of Elections office at 470 Grant St. in Akron is open weekdays from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. For more information, call 330-643-5200.

Voters must be registered by Oct. 7 in order to vote in the Nov. 5 election. Early in-office voting begins Oct. 8. Complete voter information, including local polling locations, can be found at