The Hudson High School Science Olympiad teams competed at the Akron Regional Tournament at the University of Akron March 9, with one of the two high school teams defending the regional championship and earning the best overall score in team history.

Science Olympiad is one of the largest science competitions in the nation, with hundreds of tournaments and thousands of teams spread out across 50 states. The Hudson program gives local students the opportunity to tackle STEM-related challenges in a competitive environment, whether it be aiming for structural efficiency in the Boomilever event or analyzing evidence found at a crime scene in forensics.

Hudson High School brought two teams to the competition with approximately 15 students each. The two teams (62 and 63) took first and eighth place, respectively, in competition against 20 other teams from 12 eastern Ohio counties.

Out of 23 events, the two teams placed in the top six a combined 30 times, with Team 63 placing in all but two events and Team 62 placing in nine. Overall, the two teams brought home 64 medals, including 17 first place medals and 14 second place medals.

Since the team’s inception in 2010, it has established a strong reputation as a regional powerhouse, qualifying for the state competition every single year. However, this year’s record-breaking season would not have been possible without generous support from its 10 local corporate sponsors: ForTec Medical, Labelmatch, Tech Hub Hudson, Akhia Communications, Cortland Bank, Great Clips of Hudson, TaaZaa, Bishop Financial Advisors, Polar Products and Studio 75 Photography.

The team is coached by high school teachers Ryan Fernandes and Robert Ulrich and will seek to continue its record-setting trend at the 2019 Ohio State Tournament April 27 at The Ohio State University.

Regional Tournament medals went to: Sean Scarnecchia and Jacob Weiner, astronomy, first place; Jacob Weiner and Sean Scarnecchia, chemistry lab, first place; Terry Li and Jacob Weiner, circuit lab, first place; Namjun Cho, Alexander Liesen and Zilai Wang,  code busters, first place; Kevin Tian and Sunny Fan, forensics, first place; Claire Kim and Patrick Li, mousetrap vehicle, first place; Terry Li and Iris Renna, "Wright Stuff," first place; Harrshavasan Congivaram and Alexis Baloi, anatomy and physiology, second place; Sera Mathew and Jennifer Grainger, "Designer Genes," second place; Claire Kim and Andrew Ye, fossils, second place; Terry Li and Claire Kim, "Mission Possible," second place; Jacob Weiner and Namjun Cho, "Sounds of Music," second place; Jacob Weiner and Sean Scarnecchia, thermodynamics, second place; Alexander Liesen and John Wang, water quality, second place; Samantha Betts and Frank Portman, astronomy, third place; Terry Li and Zilai Wang, "Boomilever," third place; Terry Li and Harrshavasan Congivaram, "Designer Genes," third place; Andrew Ye and Alexander Liesen, "Fermi Questions," third place; Claire Kim and Patrick Li, forensics, third place; Harrshavasan Congivaram, Patrick Li, Iris Renna, protein modeling, third place; Andrew Ye and Alexis Baloi, "Dynamic Planet," fourth place; Laura Zhang, Sunny Fan and Sera Mathew, experimental design, fourth place; Christopher Oh and Jackson Vogel, herpetology, fourth place; Andrew Hu and Thomas Myers, mousetrap vehicle, fourth place; Elizabeth Unger and Frank Portman, code busters, fifth place; Elizabeth Unger and Sera Mathew, "Fermi Questions," fifth place; Sunny Fan and Andrew Hu, herpetology, fifth place; Sean Scarnecchia and Alexander Liesen, GeoLogic mapping, sixth place; Andrew Hu and Thomas Myers, "Wright Stuff," sixth place; and Kevin Tian and Sera Mathew, protein modeling, sixth place.