The hopefuls who have filed to run for Cuyahoga Falls City Council include seven incumbents, a former council member, a past department leader of the previous city administration, the spouse of an ex-mayor and a former Cuyahoga Falls Board of Education member.

The deadline for partisan hopefuls to file petitions with the Summit County Board of Elections to run for the one available At-Large seat and all eight ward positions in the May 7 primary election was 4 p.m. Wednesday.

Since one Democrat and one Republican filed to run in each of the nine races, there will not be a primary election for either party to nominate its candidate. If all prospective candidates have their petitions certified by the board of elections, they will advance to the Nov. 5 general election ballot.

Democrat Tim Gorbach and Republican Russ Iona — both of whom are on council now — have filed to run for the At-Large seat that is currently held by Democrat Paul Colavecchio. Gorbach was elected to a different At-Large seat in 2017. Meanwhile, Iona is serving as the Ward 8 council member. Colavecchio was not on the list of hopefuls who filed to run for office.

Republican challenger Mark Pallante and Democrat incumbent Drew Reilly have filed to run in Ward 1.

Two challengers — Democrat Susan Anne Spinner and Republican Michael B. Washington — submitted petitions to run for the Ward 2 seat. The current Ward 2 Council member — Republican Mary Ellen Pyke — said she will not seek re-election this fall.

A pair of challengers — Democrat Meika Marie Penta and Republican Cecilia Robart — filed to run in Ward 3. Robart is the wife of former Cuyahoga Falls Mayor Don Robart, who served as the city’s leader from 1986 through 2013. The current Ward 3 Council member — Vic Pallotta — was not on the list of hopefuls who filed to run for office.

Democrat incumbent and Council President Mary Nichols-Rhodes and Republican challenger Kellie Patterson submitted petitions to run for the Ward 4 seat. Patterson is a former member of the Cuyahoga Falls Board of Education.

Democrat incumbent Mike Brillhart and Republican challenger Nate Leaver filed to run for the Ward 5 post.

Democrat challenger Gary DeRemer and Republican incumbent Adam Miller turned in petitions to vie for the Ward 6 seat. DeRemer is a former City Council member.

Democrat incumbent Jerry James and Republican challenger Meri Stemple filed to run in Ward 7.

Two more challengers — Democrat Frank Stams and Republican Susan Truby — submitted petitions to run for the Ward 8 post. Truby previously served as the community development director in Don Robart’s administration.

The At-Large seat carries a four-year term, while the ward posts have two-year terms. The next city mayoral election is 2021.

Reporter Phil Keren can be reached at 330-541-9421,, or on Twitter at @keren_phil.