It was a sold-out house on July 1 for the 42nd Pride Community Breakfast, hosted by the Stow-Munroe Falls Chamber of Commerce at the Acker Moore VFW Hall in Stow.

The breakfast recognizes standout community members who had made positive contributions to Stow.

Sponsors of the event were Angle Insurance Solutions, Brandon Heating & Air Conditioning, Bruner-Cox LLP, Consumers National Bank, Corner Cup Coffeehouse, MAPFRE Insurance, Rotary Club of Stow-Munroe Falls, SMF Community Foundation, The UPS Store Fishcreek Rd., Thomas C. Loepp Law Offices Co. LPA and Western Reserve Hospital.

Tom Stephan, president of SMFCC, introduced all awards throughout the event. Proclamations were given to all award winners from the offices of Gov. John Kasich, U.S. Congressman David Joyce and State Treasurer Josh Mandel.

The event began with the national anthem and "This Is My Country," both sung by the Stow-Munroe Falls High School concert choir.

Three $1,000 scholarships were presented by Jennifer Hamey and Angela Kurlich to graduating seniors that are continuing their education. These students were Haley Glessner, who will be attending Ohio Weselyn University to study creative writing with a double major in either theater, dance or film; Allsion Laber, who will be attending Bowling Green State University to study nursing; and Alexander Walls, who will attend The Ohio State University and major in data analytics.

Mayor Sara Drew and Jill Patterson, president of the Stow-Munroe Falls Kiwanis, then presented a proclamation to the marshal of the Fourth of July parade: Ron Marhofer.

"There are so many things that Ron has done that he would not take credit for.... and in my book that makes it extra special," Drew said.

The Volunteer of the Year Award was presented by 2014 winner Larry Brimlow, of Brimlow Benefits Agency. The award was given to Angela Kurlich, owner of Angle Insurance Solutions. Kurlich serves on a number of different committees and boards, including many committees for the Chamber of Commerce.

"I love to do what I do, I love the people of this community," Kurlich said. "I'm thrilled to be working on behalf of the Chamber."

Brimlow noted that Kurlich "has a heart of gold."

The Friends of the Community Award was presented to Annie Hanson by 2014 winners Janet and Dick D'Antonio. Hanson serves on a number of boards and organizations, which include Rotary and the SMF Community Foundation. She works at the University of Akron, managing outreach and educational activities that raise awareness of engineering careers for K-12 students.

"She works with endless vigor," said Janet D'Antonio.

The largest award of the program was the Business Person of the Year Award, introduced by Jan Michalec from Record Publishing Co. and presented by the 2014 winner John Walter, from Brandon Heating & Air Conditioning.

This award was presented to Linda Trevorrow, owner of Benjamin & Trevorrow Inc. She's served on a large variety of different boards and organizations and currently is the treasurer for the Chamber of Commerce. Her firm is celebrating its 25 year university this month.

"I had to work hard," she said. "I look forward to continuing to serve."

The program concluded with door prizes.


Phone: 330-541-9418