The community is encouraged to attend the Cuyahoga Falls Schools Foundation celebration May 25 at Cuyahoga Falls High School library when 31 Falls High seniors will receive scholarships.

Also, five $500 grants will be awarded to teachers who wish to purchase equipment for their classrooms and three Falls High alumni will be honored as Distinguished Alumni for their achievements since graduation.

A punch and cookies reception will begin at 6:30 p.m. with the formal presentations to begin at 7 p.m. The event is free.

Twenty proposals for teacher grants have been made, but the winners have not yet been selected.

The three alumni to be honored are: Michael B. Mock, MD, class of 55; Rick Zaidan, class of '72; and Marj Schlaeppi, class of '52.

Dr. Mock is a specialist and researcher in coronary and vascular disease who served with the Mayo Clinic for 30 years before retiring. He continues in collaboration with the ongoing analysis of data for the Percutaneous Transluminal Coronary Angioplasty Registry.

Zaidan is a photographer with a national reputation specializing in corporate photography. His business is located in Cuyahoga Falls but his work has taken him throughout the United States to photograph the famous and successful.

Schlaeppi has served the schools and community both as an employee and volunteer throughout her lifetime. She is currently the retiring executive director of the Cuyahoga Falls Schools Foundation.

The scholarships for students have been donated over the years by supporters of the Foundation. The total value of the scholarships to be presented May 25 is $54,250. The scholarships and the Falls High seniors receiving the awards are:

The Jones Family scholarship - Hanna Khoury; Janet Neff Rogers Memorial scholarship - Ryan Michaud; Paul Long Memorial scholarship - Patricia Gonzi; Cuyahoga Falls Lions Club - Lindsey Murphy; Charlene Culp Memorial - Ali Briggs; Opal Margaret Shaver Smith Memorial - Michael Wilson.

William and Margaret Barth Memorial Scholarship - Hilary Crawford; Ruth Shaver Kelley Scholarship - Alex Jones; Robert and Alyce Hogarth Williams Memorial - Carey Cramer; Clara Grohe Memorial - Kelsey Atchinson; Clinton and MaryGail Emmerich Memorial - Alex Sandoval; R.O. Reynolds Memorial - Karlayna Steward; Paul and Mildred Underwood - Jennifer Ferrise; Daniel Ruttig Memorial - Kaitlyn Rosen; Nicholas Costakes Memorial - Paul Murphy; I.O. and Mary Frances-Forbes Adams - Rachael Stiles; Iris D. Sager Memorial - David Zach; MaryFran Wilson Memorial - Sharon Phelps; Scott Knepp Memorial - Kathryn Long; Bob Maxwell - Andrew Thomas.

Bob and Barb Schray (class of Jan. '55) Scholarship - Katherine Wrobel; Clara Faber Scholarship - Chelsea Burkle; Wolcott (Faber) Scholarship - Sarah Potokar; Edwin Holland Memorial - Mitch Brustman; Class of '58 - Stephanie Gasior; Shirley Mahoney Memorial - Colleen Craddock; Harold Wilson - Amanda Base; Dolores B. Yoro Memorial - Maile Osborne; Herb Wells Memorial - Lauren Mercer; James Dick Memorial - Christopher Benjamin; Distinguished Alumni Scholarship - Kristin Yeager.