The summer convention of the Fifth District of the American Legion Auxiliary was hosted by Harry Higgins Unit 88 of the American Legion Auxiliary. Fifth District president Mary Ann Dull, who is a member of Unit 88 and Unit 88’s second vice president Bonnie Green, presided over the meeting. Greetings were given by Kerry Hart-Stiffler of Unit 88 and Ashland Mayor Matt Miller. Melanie Miller, wife of Matt Miller, presented a medley of patriotic selections.

Deb Sutterlin of Loudonville Unit 257 was elected district president for the 2018-2020 year. She will be installed at the department convention this month in Columbus, where Mary Ann will transfer her ribbon and pin to her.

Elected as delegates to the national convention in August in Minneapolis were Dull and Sutterlin.

Ashland Unit 88 also won awards for second place in Junior Activities; third place in Community Service; second place in Americanism; second place in Children and Youth.

Conway presented Dull with a love offering from the units in the Fifth District, which covers a 10-county area. Conway also presented Mary Ann with a patriotic globe and stand, a gift from Unit 88.

Reports of the year and the presentation of plaques were presented by the district chairmen, which included Americanism, Sutterlin of Loudonville Unit 257; Children and Youth, Shirley Messaros, Elyria Unit 12; Junior Activities, Conway, Ashland Unit 88; Community Service, Sally Cornwell, Amherst Unit 118; and Veterans Affairs and Rehabilitation, Sandy Van Houten, Bellville Unit 535.

Serving on the place committee at the meeting was Nancy Longbrake of New London Unit 292 and serving on the registration committee was Marianne Dawson of Loudonville Unit 257.