The University of Akron's student-run television station received its first Emmy Award Sept. 8 in Cleveland by the Lower Great Lakes Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

Z-TV programming earned four award nominations and "Z-TV: Get Experienced" was the winner in its category, earning UA alumnus Scott Sebert his first Emmy as producer. Sebert, who graduated last December with a bachelor's degree in mass media, is now one of several UA communication graduates working at NBC Universal in Los Angeles.

The Emmy is the highest honor given in television. Media professionals from around the country choose the winners.

"This is unbelievable ... I have to call my mom!" Sebert told the approximately 400 media professionals from Ohio, Pennsylvania and Indiana who attended the award ceremonies.

Joining Sebert at the award ceremonies were several UA students on the Z-TV staff: Revere High School graduates Judson Heckerman and Ben Heckerman of Bath, Copley High School graduate Sammy Boumadi of Copley, Wickliffe High School graduate Amber Manfredi of Wickliffe, Green High School graduates Gina Snyder and Reem Matar of Green, and Cuyahoga Falls High School graduate Alex Daw of Cuyahoga Falls. Z-TV General Manager Phil Hoffman of Wadsworth also attended.

Z-TV programs are seen on Time Warner Cable of Northeast Ohio as well as on more than 4,000 campuses worldwide as part of The Open Student Television Network.

Z-TV is partnered with WZIP-FM, the country's top-rated student-run radio station. Both are housed in the UA School of Communication. For more information or to see the nominated programs, go to The programs can also be seen on Time Warner Cable's Ohio On Demand channel 1111. "Akron After Hours" can be seen on You Tube by visiting ZTVonline.