It was a good final step of the regular season for the storied Woodridge cross country program.

The Bulldogs traveled to the Portage County Fairgrounds on Oct. 12 to compete in the Portage Trail Conference Championships. Both the boys and girls teams captured their ninth straight league titles.

"This was the final step before the first round of the state tournament, and the league meet marked the end of the season for the non-varsity athletes," said veteran head coach Jeff Howard.

Both teams ran in the Goodyear MetroPark Division II District Meet, but final results weren't available as of press time.

The top four teams and top 16 individuals advanced out of the district to the Regional Championships in Boardman on Oct. 26.

Senior Madison Spreitzer did what no other runner has done in the history of the conference. Spreitzer earned PTC Runner of the Year honors three years in a row.

Spreitzer was crowned champion with a time of 20:09.45.

"Madison did something no one else has done and her victory on Saturday earned this honor," said Howard. "More importantly, Madison led her team to its ninth consecutive PTC Championship as the girls grabbed the top six spots to score a perfect 15 points in the meet."

Running second was senior Allyson Dryer, who had a time of 20:30.96.

Dryer was followed by junior Julia Moore (third at 20:32.55), freshman Clare Willett (fourth with a 20:32.90),senior Erin Kiley (fifth at 20:33.19), and freshman Nicole Fleming (sixth at 20:38.38).

Ravenna Southeast's Miranda Hughes was the first non-Bulldog to finish as she was seventh (20:46.74).

Also making first-team All-PTC was freshman Natalie Fleming, who ran eighth for Woodridge with a time of 21:15.13.

Mary Kiley, Katrina Folk, Katie Kearns, and Christen Swayer earned second team All-PTC honors as they all finished in the top 15 of the race.

Rachel Starvaggi and Jessie Showalter garnered special mention all-league. Folk and Starvaggi are seniors.

A balanced boys squad won their ninth crown, 20-53, over Rootstown and the rest of the field.

"The men continued to shuffle their order as they won their ninth consecutive PTC Championship as well," said Howard. "This time, it was senior Kyle Jarvis who led a pack of Bulldogs with a second-place finish."

While Rootstown's William Morgan won the individual crown at 17:15.78, the Bulldogs donned the next eight finishes.

Jarvis had a strong time of 17:30.44 and was followed by fellow first-team honorees senior John Harry, junior Tyler Adams, senior Andrew Stewart, junior Noah Bullock, senior Gabe Boyd, and senior Tim Faiken.

Harry ran third overall with a time of 17:38.09 while Adams was fourth at 17:38.76, followed by Stewart (17:41.82), Bullock (17:43.03), Boyd (17:44.37), and Faiken (17:48.25).

Second-team honors went to Dan Kiley, Ryan Palm, and Yousef Elkurd. Seth Conard and Logan Stockton were selected as special mention All-PTC.

Kiley gave Woodridge eight runners in the top 10 as he was 10th with a time of 18:07.70.


Phone: 330-541-9442

Facebook: MLeonardRPC