AURORA -- A number of Aurora High winter sports athletes have received Suburban League and special honors for their accomplishments.

Top honors went to Jarrod Brezovec as Suburban League outstanding wrestler of the year, Johnny Papesh as SL wrestling coach of the year and girls basketball coach Erika Greenberg as coach of the year in the league's American Division. Greenberg also was named Northeast Inland District Division I coach of the year and Women's Tri-County Basketball Coaches Association Division I coach of the year.

Suburban League honors went to the following:

Girls basketball -- (first team) Syarra Sellers and Shayla Sellers; (second team) April Davis; (honorable mention) Korie Hobbs; boys basketball -- (first team) Gavin Blunt); (second team) Cade Huffman; (honorable mentioned (Zach Elsawy).

Syarra Sellers was named first team all-WTCBCA, while Shayla Sellers was second team and Davis and Hobbs were honorable mentions. The girls basketball team tied for the SL American title and was a sectional co-champion.

Wrestling -- (first team) Jack Gorman, Andrew Garr, Will McGhee, Connor Bizjak and Bubba Arslanian; (second team) Kyle Petersen, Dom Stuber and Colin McNamara; (honorable mention) Ben Rogge, John Papesh, Ryan Scantland, Jacob Loudon and Mason Copley.

The Greenmen grapplers were SL America champions. Brezovec placed third in the state in Division I at 132 pounds and Arslanian was sixth at 220 pounds. Gorman and Petersen also were state qualifiers.

Girls swimming/diving -- (first team) Lara Ketonen, Whitney Lieberh, Kylie Palian and Lauren Sapochetti; (second team) Paulina Galchenko, Marissa Henderson and Abbey Stechler; (honorable mention) Madeline Schmitt and Julia Brezovec. Ketonen was a state qualifier and finished 14th in the 50 freestyle and 15th in the 1`00 freestyle in Division I.

Boys swimming and diving -- (first team) Drew Albrecht and Tyler Liston; (honorable mention) Tyler Hayes and Gunnar Meyer. Albrecht was a state qualifier in diving and placed 16th in Division II.

The Greenmen ice hockey team was runnerup in the Baron Cup III. Joe Capretta earned Blue North and all-league first team honors, while Dominic Hesmondhalgh was named to the all-division first team and Tomi Pirinen was named to the all-division second team.