Ravenna -- Breaking out of a three-way tie for first place after the first round of the annual Matt Mishler Portage County Junior Amateur golf tournament, Auroran Christopher Sloe went on to win the boys 16-19 age division championship.

The second round of the 36-hole tournament began at Oak Knolls in Kent with Sloe in a tie for first place with fellow Auroran Conor O'Callighan and Twinsburg's Michael Furey, who all shot 74 in the first round at Windmill Lakes in Ravenna.

Sloe carded 72 in the second round to finish at 146, while Furey shot 73 and O'Callaghan shot 74 to finish at 147 and 148, respectively, and in second and third places.

Sloe, who will be a senior at Aurora High School this fall, managed to avoid trouble in most of the second round and used his creativity to conquer one hole.

On the Par 3, 11th hole, he hit an approach shot that bounced across the green and landed next to a tree.

A right-handed golfer, Sloe had to approach the shot from a left-handed position, turning his club over and lifting the ball onto the green.

"After the first round when Conor, Michael Furey and myself were tied at 74 and paired together for the second day, I knew this would be a fun day of golf for all of us," said Sloe.

"Conor and Michael are great competitors and we were just a stroke or two apart the entire second round. Scoring seven birdies on the day was more than I expected, but it proved to be the difference in our scores.

"I'm sure Conor and Michael will agree, this was a fun day for all of us."

Three other Aurorans competed in the boys 16-19 division, as Alex Avalon shot 79-81-160, Sam Nowak 79-85-164 and Adam McCullough 85-85-170.

One Aurora resident -- Michael Avalon -- shot 110-107-217 to finish 47 strokes behind boys 13-15 division winner Joey Vitali of Warren, who tallied 170.

In the 2013 Mishler tournament, Sloe shot 164. Aurorans finishing above him last year were Scott Schroeder (155 for third place), Alex Avalon (156 for fourth place) and Austin Guthlein (161).

Winners in this year's other divisions were: Charlie Huscroft of Kent (94 for 18 holes) in boys 12 and under, Correna Wise of Kent (190) in girls 16-19, Abbie Pearce of Uniontown (163) in girls 13-15 and Lauren Garner of Kent (102 for 18 holes) in girls 12 and under.