Aurora -- Despite cold and snowy weather, JAWs (Junior Aurora Wrestlers) had a busy weekend Jan. 25-26. On Jan. 25, the all-stars traveled to Mayfield High School for their end-of-the-year tournament.

Winning championships were Gio Kaplan, Reese Sesny, Ryan Kotora, Cole Walton, Isaac Lee, Matthew Hart, Jerome Scott, Ashton Price and Ryan Papesh.

Runnersup were Mason Giambrone, Marty Lee, Ben Lukasik, Rylan Preuss, Joseph Scott, Tommy Hach and Devon Salgado. Consolation medals were earned by Hunter Sabatino, Bryer Pickana, Evan Yasenowsky, Austin Cook, Kyle Bizjak, Justin Hartland and Austin Gossman.

On Jan. 26, the varsity wrestlers traveled to Maple Heights for the league's sectional tournament, and qualified 10 boys for the district tourney at Garfield Heights. The top four wrestlers from 52 pounds and up advanced.

As a team, the locals placed fourth with 167 points behind Mayfield, Maple Heights and Twinsburg. Nordonia, Kenston, Cuyahoga Heights and Garfield Heights also competed.

Aurora championships were by Bo DiJulius (56), Nic Willingham (64) and Shane Cheatham (70). Runnersup were Ben Rogge (76), John Papesh (79) and A.J. Barner (95).

Taking third were Colin Musgrave (46), Armen Perez (52), Brian Kennedy (82) and Jeffrey Burger 86), while fourth were Mason Smolen (49) and Dylan Delrosa (73).

Everett Pennington and Robbie and Anthony Sagaris wrestled well, but came up short of the top placers.

According to coach Shawn McNamara, the most exciting match of the day was by Delrosa. He trailed his opponent by three points heading into the third period, scored two takedowns in the last 40 seconds to tie and then scored a takedown for a 7-5 victory.