Aurora -- Junior Aurora Wrestlers were busy in December and are heading into the final weeks of its regular season. In December, JAWs competed against Maple Heights, Cuyahoga Heights, Nordonia, Garfield, Mayfield Heights and Kenston.

Three wrestlers emerged undefeated -- Bo DiJulius (56 pounds), Nic Willingham (64) and Shane Cheatham (70). Others with winning records were Mason Smolen, Anthony Sagaris, Dylan Delrosa, Ben Rogge, John Papesh, Brian Kennedy, Jeffrey Burger and A.J. Barner.

The locals looked like they were tournament ready recently as they beat a solid Twinsburg team. Winning by fall were Willingham and Papesh, while Smolen, DiJulius and Barner won by decision and Everett Pennington and Colin Musgrave won by forfeit.

Robbie Sagaris had the most exciting match. He and his opponent were in a scoreless tie at the end of regulation. In overtime, Sagaris was close to a takedown, but ran out of time. That set up a 30-second sudden victory period.

Sagaris held his opponent down for the entire period and won 1-0. Kennedy and Delrosa also had close matches, but came up short of victory.

Several JAWs boys competed in an OAC state qualifying district tournament, and five finished in the top four to advance to the state tournament.

Willingham won four matches and the 65-pound championship. In the finals, he beat a wrestler 6-4 that he had lost to in the semifinals of last year's OAC state tournament.

Cheatham and Bryer Pickana took third in their respective weight classes, while Brian Kennedy and Jeffrey Burger earned fourth place and qualified by going 2-2.

On the all-star mat, several grapplers continue to improve their skills.

They are Mason Giambrone, Hunter Sabatino, Luke Geyer, Marty and Issac Lee, Ben Lukasik, Evan Yasenowsky, Rylan Preuss, Joseph and Jerome Scott, Devon Salgado, Austin Cook, Gio Kaplan, Aidan Wetzel, Tommy Hach, Aidan Lynch, Nick Barker.

Also, Gavin Mayes, Reese Sesny, Kyle Bizjak, Colin Hawley, Jimmy Angelo, Austin Grossman, Justin Hartland, Cole Walton, Mitchell Copley, Matthew Hart, Ryan Kotora, Liam Baskette, Carson Palmer, Nick Berardi, Ashton Price, Ryan Papesh and Jack Tartaglio.