STOW — New school board member Jason Whitacre and veteran member Gerry Bettio were both sworn in Jan. 2 for their school board terms.

In addition, Lisa Johnson-Bowers was appointed school board president, and Kelly Toppin vice president, during the organizational meeting at the high school.

“I’m excited to take this opportunity to continue what we’ve been working on,” said Johnson-Bowers. “The school district going in such a positive direction. We are all excited.”

Toppin said he looked forward to “moving the school district in the positive direction it is going in.”

New assistant treasurer hired

The school board unanimously approved hiring Joanne Ostlund as the assistant treasurer.

Ostlund, who was the district’s administrative assistant to the treasurer, started her new duties Jan. 3. Her salary for the two-year contract is $71,373.