The following local college students graduated from Baldwin Wallace University in Berea in May: Kyle Messner, bachelor of arts degree in business administration; Katherine O'Malley, bachelor of arts in health care management; Scott Schroeder, bachelor of arts in business administration and marketing.

+ + +

Emily Iammarino, who was omitted from a list previously published in the Advocate, graduated this spring from Miami University of Ohio with a bachelor of science degree in kinesiology and a health major in nutrition.

+ + +

At the 71st annual Eastern Colleges Science Conference at Wilkes University in Wilkes-Barre, Pa., five neuroscience concentration students received awards for their manuscripts. One of these is chemistry major Ethan Ekstrand of Aurora, who received an Award of Excellence for a research paper in psychology.

In addition, he received an award for the outstanding poster presentation in psychology.

The manuscripts and posters were a culmination of an independent research project, which is a component of the Interdisciplinary neuroscience concentration at John Carroll University.

Faculty judges from various universities and research institutions in the Eastern section of the country evaluated all research.

There were over 350 participants from approximately 25 colleges and universities.

ECSC is the oldest undergraduate research conference in the United States. For 30 consecutive years, neuroscience students of Drs. Helen Murphy and Cyrilla Wideman have received excellence/outstanding awards for research in biology, chemistry and/or psychology at the ECSC.

+ + +

Thomas J. Riedy of Aurora has been named to the president's list at Clemson University for the spring 2017 semester. He is majoring in political science. To be named, a student must have achieved a grade-point average of 4.0.

+ + +

Olivia Pollack of Aurora was inducted into the Alpha Mu Chapter of Sigma Iota Rho, the honor society for international studies at Baldwin Wallace University in Berea.

Pollack, a graduate of Aurora High majoring in international studies and public health, shared the honor with five other students.

Society membership is extended to international studies majors and minors with sophomore standing or higher; four courses from international studies major or minor requirements, with a GPA of 3.2 or better; an overall GPA of 3.2 or better; and at least one course at the 300 or 400 level.

Founded in 1984, the purpose of SIR is to promote and reward scholarship and service among students and practitioners of international studies, international affairs, and global studies and to foster integrity and creative performance in the conduct of world affairs.

+ + +

Aurora residents Sarah Droder and Matthew Iammarino were named to the dean's list for the spring 2017 semester at Denison University in Granville. The honor requires at least a 3.7 grade-point average.