The Portage Foundation, in conjunction with the League of Women Voters of Kent, is accepting applications for the Helen Dix scholarship for female students, age 25 or older, at Kent State University or Hiram College.

The scholarship will be awarded for the 2017-18 academic year, and applications and supporting materials are due to The Portage Foundation by June 1. Applications may be requested from The Portage Foundation, 330-474-0480, 138 East Main St., Suite 201C, Kent 44240 or at

The League of Women Voters of Kent established the scholarship in memory of Helen Dix, a founding member of the organization. When she died in the fall of 2013, she was its last surviving charter member. Mrs. Dix was instrumental in furthering the league mission in Portage County from Kent's LWV establishment in 1953 throughout the rest of her life. She was passionate about the importance of education and its accessibility to an informed citizenry.

The League of Women Voters national organization was formed in 1920 to help women take a larger role in public affairs after they won the right to vote.

An affiliate of the national organization, the League of Women Voters of Kent is a nonpartisan political organization encouraging the informed and active participation of citizens in government. It influences public policy through education and advocacy. The Kent LWV is well known in the Portage County area for its election Voter's Guide. You can reach the league through its website at or its Facebook page

Tax-deductible donations to support the scholarship may be sent to Helen Dix Scholarship at The Portage Foundation, 138 East Main St., Suite 201C, Kent 44240.

Created in 1997 as a non-profit public charity, The Portage Foundation is celebrating its 20th year. The foundation's mission is to honor a donor's philanthropic wishes and improve the community by building an endowment, stewarding the funds and conducting a meaningful grant process for distribution two times each year. It devotes special emphasis to programs that enrich the life of the community through funding of arts and culture, economic development, education, environment, health and human services.