The following actions were taken by the Aurora School Board at its May 15 meeting:

Recognized Rose Brown for excellence in teaching and Carol Heiskell for excellence in classified service for 2017.

Adopted the revised state five-year plan, copies of which are available for review by the public in the treasurer's office.

Recalled the following t4achers and tutor from reduction-in-staff status for 2017-18: Brian Callahan, Evan Karnoupakis, Elizabeth Schaefer and Lauren Skonieczny.

Reinstated Mary Jurkiewicz from layoff status as building secretary effective July 1.

Accepted the resignations of physical Education teacher Jennifer Sferra and English teacher Leonard Spacek (both 50 percent of their contracts) and tutor Evan Karnoupakis.

Adjusted the employment percentage of math teacher Evan Karoupakis and Elizabeth Schaefer from 50 percent to 100 percent.

OK'd a leave of absence for Miller teacher Jaime Hood for the first semester of 2017-18.

Employed Michael E. McGlothlin as a maintenance worker and Dalton Cupka as a support staffer.

Awarded supplemental contracts to Leighton robotics club adviser Shannon Gagel and summer school teachers Heather Berlin, Brian Callahan, Brandon Morris, Heidi McKenzie, Kathleen Wiemken, John Calcei, Ellen Marks, Bob Mihalik and Michele Dirda.

Employed Jillian Sudsina as a summer helper.

Employed the following part-time maintenance/tech staffers: James Kristell, Benjamin Lucal, Hannah Mohan and Chad Vermillion.

Employed dozens of support staff substitutes for 2017-18.

Awarded supplemental and extended time contracts to Karen Andexler, Kathy Funnell, Cathy Pettitt and Judy Pigza for food service planning and school psychologists Erin Bradic, Resaca Bostaph and Joshua Kiser.

Awarded supplemental contracts to William Lawrence (boys soccer assistant coach) and Matthew Tramba (football assistant coach).

Recognized Harmon School students Ha Kerchenski and Joseph Liang as Rotary Club students of the month.

Recognized fourth-graders Ishaan Shaik, Aashwi Tyagi and Clara Bultrowicz and fifth-graders Dong-ha Kim, Chiaki Ozawa, Alexandra Yahasz and Hailey Kulawiak for honors received at the Aurora Orchestra Association solo competition.

Approved the 2017 graduating class.

Authorized membership in the Oho High School Athletic Association for 2017-18.

OK'd an out-of-state field trip for the AHS marching band for band camp in Transfer, Pa. from July 23 to 29.

Approved revised policies dealing with student suspensions and explulsion.