The public is invited to an open house to view and comment on the plans for the new Boston Mills Visitor Center for Cuyahoga Valley National Park. It will be held from 3 to 6 p.m. April 24 at Happy Days Lodge.
Boston Mills Visitor Center will be located on the southeast corner of Riverview and Boston Mill roads in the Village of Boston. The historic property will be renovated to serve as a central, one-stop resource where visitors can plan their journeys in the national park and Ohio & Erie Canalway.
The $5.9 million project is a partnership between two organizations. The Conservancy, which is the nonprofit friends group for Cuyahoga Valley National Park, is managing fundraising, planning, design, and construction. Once open, the facility will be operated by the National Park Service.
The visitor center will be housed in a building built in 1905 as a commercial and residential space for the Akron-Canton Bag Company. In recent years, it has been a privately owned residence. The current owner approached the park with his desire to sell the property. Purchase was completed on April 12.
The primary contracts for architectural and engineering services, exhibit design, and project management have all been awarded to Ohio-based firms. Architectural and engineering services are being led by Peninsula Architects with support from the Environmental Design Group. Hilferty & Associations from Athens is leading exhibit design. Regency Construction Services from Lakewood is providing construction management.
Participants at the open house will be able to comment on early stages of design for the buildings, site, and exhibits. Happy Days Lodge is at 500 West Streetsboro Road, 1 mile west of Route 8 in Peninsula.