The Portage County Association of Realtors recently hosted its 31st annual awards banquet and inaugural at Walden Golf and Tennis Club in Aurora.

This event focuses on recognizing realtors for their achievements and their contributions to the community. It is also a time to recognize and induct the new president and board of directors.

The mistress of ceremonies for the evening was Sherry Gloor. Polly Kordinak, the new president, brought her theme "Pass the Baton" to the group. This is an endeavor to encourage new agents to step up and become involved in their organization and communities.

In addition to director and many other committees, this is the second time Kordinak has served the board as president. She last served in 1996.

Additional members of the board are: Mark Brady, president-elect; Jeremy Fennell, first vice president; Rob McClellan, treasurer; and Carol Foote, immediate past president.

The directors include Jennifer Filipczak Turner, Gloor, Kellie Kapusta, Nick Polichena, Pam Richards, Patricia Scherer and Ava Wagner. The affiliate director is Don Greenleaf. Members were all sworn in by John Kurlich, chief executive officer of NEOHREX Multiple Listing Service.

Cassie Fitzgerald spoke to the group about the Young Professionals Network. Don Greenleaf spoke about the affiliates and their role with the board in working together and helping each other and the community.

Realtor of the year is Foote, affiliate of the year is Lexanne Annis, rising star is Jeremy Fennell, volunteer of the year is Susan Blazek and many received professional of the year awards.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Kurlich, the invocation was given by Denny Fox and harpist Kirk Kupensky played during the cocktail and dinner hour.