COLUMBUS -- Area lawmakers were named late last month week to leadership posts on legislative panels in the Ohio House and Senate.

Committee assignments announced Jan. 30 and 31 included:

Sen. Scott Oelslager (R-North Canton), whose district includes most of Stark County, returns as chairman of the powerful Senate Finance Committee, which will spend coming months deliberating on the biennial budget.

He'll also serve on the Rules and Reference; Judiciary; and Health, Human Services and Medicaid committees.

Sen. John Eklund (R-Chardon), whose district includes Portage County, will head the Ways and Means Committee.

He'll also hold seats on the Rules and Reference, Judiciary and Public Utilities committees, as well as the Finance Committee and its Subcommittee on General Government and Agency Review.

Sen. Frank LaRose (R-Hudson), whose district includes part of Summit County, will serve as chairman of the Senate's Transportation, Commerce and Workforce Committee and vice chairman of the chamber's Public Utilities Committee.

Sen. Vernon Sykes (D-Akron), whose district includes the Akron area in Summit County, will serve as ranking minority member on the Education Committee. He'll also serve on the Finance Committee, with a vice chairmanship on that panel's Subcommittee on Primary and Secondary Education.

His other committee assignments include the Health, Human Services and Medicaid; Local Government, Public Safety and Veterans Affairs; and Public Utilities committees.

Rep. Kristina Roegner (R-Hudson), whose district includes part of Summit County, will head a new House Committee on Federalism and Interstate Relations.

She'll also serve on the Public Utilities Committee.

She also will serve on the House's Energy and Natural Resource Committee and the Higher Education and Workforce Development Committee.

Marc Kovac is the Dix Capital Bureau Chief. Email him at or on Twitter at OhioCapitalBlog.