The following items were approved by the Aurora Board of Education at its Jan. 23 meeting:

Submit a 5.9-mill additional continuing operating levy to the district's voters for the May 2 primary election ballot.

Based on a total current tax valuation of the district of $632.7 million, the Portage County auditor has determined the levy would generate $3.73 million a year.

Declare as necessary the Jan. 10 emergency closing of schools because of weather conditions.

Re-employ Diane Ebie as payroll manager. She had tendered her resignation for retirement purposes as of Jan. 31, but will be re-employed in the post effective Feb. 1.

Award supplemental contract to Toni Taylor as an after-school study center supervisor.

Employ Chad W. Vermillion as a part-time maintenance / technical assistant on an as needed basis.

Award substitute teacher contracts to Aubrey Heiskell and Allison Sly.

Appoint Daryl L. Guyette as Aurora High custodian and Justin M. Winland as Miller custodian for an introductory period of 100 work days.

Place George W. Mohr on medical leave of absence effective Jan. 1 as approved by the School Employees Retirement System of Ohio on Dec. 15, 2016.

Employ the following support staff members after completion of a 100-work day introductory period: AHS health-instructional assistant Linda J. Bennet, Miller cafeteria worker Merry C. Hinderschied, Harmon health-instructional assistant John J. Papesh III and Craddock health-instructional assistant Cheryl M. Steele.

Accept an anonymous donation of $25,000 to the district.

Recognize AHS students Donovan Boyle and Nadia Abbass as Rotary Club of Aurora students of the month for January.