U.S. Secretary of Education John B. King Jr. last week announced selection of nine Ohio schools — including Leighton School in Aurora — as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2016.

The award is based on their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups. Also recognized was Grace L. Roxbury School in Solon and Bissell Elementary in Twinsburg.

For more information, read the Advocate's Oct. 5 edition.