Hudson -- In 1991, Ernst & Young selected Burton D. Morgan (1916-2003), then president of Basic Search, as its Master Entrepreneur. Another trophy was added to the Burton D. Morgan Foundation's shelf this year when EY Entrepreneur of the Year named Deborah Hoover, president of the foundation, the winner in the Educational Services and Non-Profit category.

"I was tremendously honored to be included and have the foundation included as a finalist," Hoover said. "Knowing Burt Morgan received the same award in 1991, also made us think about how happy he would be to see the foundation is continuing his legacy in support of entrepreneurship in Northeast Ohio."

The Northeast Ohio Entrepreneur Of the Year Program honors and recognizes outstanding business founders and owners. An independent judging panel chose the winners of the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year awards in Northeast Ohio for 2014 and recognized them June 26 at the Cleveland Convention Center.

Hoover said the EY award recognizes the contributions the Burton D. Morgan Foundation has been making to promote entrepreneurship through grants.

The final nine category winners were chosen from 30 finalists.

"It's wonderful to have our work recognized for the contribution we've been able to make by this award," Hoover said. "I'm delighted to be recognized in Northeast Ohio. It's very energizing."

Hoover said she appreciated the recognition of her achievements through the foundation.

"It has been an incredible journey over the last decade, realizing the vision of our exuberant founder Burton D. Morgan and working each day to connect the ideas, people and opportunities that have built our robust entrepreneurial ecosystem," Hoover said. "Throughout this journey, I have been supported by my family and an energetic team of trustees and staff, and I share this award and my gratitude with all of them."

The Foundation's work is not complete, Hoover said. The EY Entrepreneur of the Year Award will drive The Burton D. Morgan Foundation forward to experiment with fresh ideas and innovative solutions to further advance the global competitiveness in the region.

"EY has honored outstanding entrepreneurs for the past 28 years," said Whitt Butler, EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Program Director for Northeast Ohio. "These business leaders are accomplished entrepreneurs who have contributed a tremendous amount to the community."

Butler said since 1986 EY has celebrated the entrepreneur spirit of people who have followed their dreams and built their businesses.

The nine winners in this area will compete nationally in November in California, Hoover said.

Paul Westlake Jr. of Westlake Reed Leskosky from Hudson also won an award for Real Estate, Design & Building Products.

Other EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Northeast Ohio 2014 award recipients included Brad Sacks of More Than Gourmet for Consumer and Retail Products & services; Scott T. Becker of Chromaflo for Distribution & Manufacturing; Jodi L. Berg of Vita-Mix Corporation for Family Business; Jeffrey Concepcion of Stratos Wealth Partners for Financial Services; Dale Wollschleger of Exact Care Pharmacy for Health and Wellness Services; Richard L. Bednar of TenPoint Crossbow Technologies for Innovation and Technology Products & Services; and David A. Osage of The Equity Engineering Group Inc. for Professional Services.


Phone: 330-541-9434

Twitter: @LauraFreeman_RP