Aurora — Three local residents who have aided countless youngsters were honored Feb. 9 as the 14th group to be declared Friends of the Schools by the Aurora Schools Foundation.
The honorees — Connie Nemeth, Ed Jasany and John Wells — were recognized at the annual banquet at the Hilton Garden Inn in Twinsburg.
ASF President Gary Brookhart pointed out that the trio, like more than two dozen past honorees, were outstanding examples of the volunteerism which has helped to make the school district one of the finest in the state.
Brookhart told the audience the Friends of the Schools award is a unique one, and the annual banquet is a “classy and enjoyable event.” He added, “It is humbling to hear the speakers. Despite some trials and tribulations over the years, our volunteers are what’s made the Aurora schools go from good to nationally ranked.”