Aurora -- Ten city residents, including two former Council members and one who unsuccessfully ran for mayor in last November, have applied for the Council seat left vacant when Ann Womer Benjamin assumed the duties of mayor.

Council will meet in special session Jan. 30 at 6 p.m. in Town Hall to fill the seat. The person selected will serve out Womer Benjamin's term, which expires Dec. 31, 2015. That person would be eligible to run for a full four-year term in the November 2015 election.

Among the applicants are former Councilman-at-Large Joe Kastelic, who lost his seat in November 2013 to Amy McDougald; former Councilman (2006-11) Robert Galaska Jr.; and John Monroe, who finished second to Womer Benjamin in the November 2013 mayoral race which featured six candidates.

Also applying for the post are K. Scott Wolf, who ran unsuccessfully in November for the at-large seat won by McDougald; William E. Davidson, Melissa Franco, Dan Hamilton, Lawrence Schmidt, Frederick Rote and Kara Dombroski. Rote previously ran unsuccessfully for the Ward 1 seat.

Current members of Council will interview each of the candidates at the special meeting and then make their decision. The newly-appointed person will be sworn in at the end of the session, and will attend his or her first committee of the whole and regular Council meeting on Feb. 10.

While Council is interviewing each candidate, the others will not be permitted to sit in Council chambers.

Each candidate will make an opening statement and a closing statement, and Council can ask him or her questions in between the statements. The question/answer period will be limited to 12 minutes for each candidate.

Council will cast its first vote on ballots after the interviews, with the field being narrowed to two candidates. A final voice vote will determine who wins the seat. The winner must receive at least five votes. If there is a tie, additional roll call votes will be taken until one candidate receives five votes.


Phone: 330-541-9400 ext. 4189