Aurora City Council will meet the evening of Jan. 30 to pick a local resident to fill the Council seat of now-Mayor Ann Womer Benjamin.

Ten people have applied for the post. They are former Councilmen Joe Kastelic and Robert Galaska Jr., plus William E. Davidson, Melissa Franco, Dan Hamilton, K. Scott Wolf, John Monroe, Lawrence Schmidt, Frederick Rote and Kara Dombroski.

Monroe was unsuccessful in his bid for mayor in the November 2013 election and Wolf was unsuccessful in a bid for a Council-at-Large seat in November.