Aurora — City Councilman George Horvat will return as Council president following a unanimous vote of his peers Jan. 6 at the annual organizational meeting.
Horvat became Council president in November 2012 after then-president James Fisher was sworn in as mayor, succeeding Lynn McGill, who stepped down as for health reasons. Fisher did not seek election last November, and Councilwoman Ann Womer Benjamin was elected mayor.
Horvat started his sixth term representing Ward 4 in January 2012.
Councilman Dennis Kovach was unanimously picked as the new Council vice president. He began his third term as Ward 2 Councilman in January 2012. Joe Kastelic, who was unsuccessful in his Council re-election bid in November, served as vice president in 2013.
Council must still select a successor for Womer Benjamin, who was sworn in as mayor Dec. 30. Applications must be submitted to the city by Jan. 15.
Phone: 330-541-9400 ext. 4187