Northeast Ohio Medical University Faculty Awarded at Annual Faculty Forum

Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED) faculty members were recently honored at the annual Spring Faculty Forum in the Ralph Regula Conference and Event Center on the Rootstown campus. The awardees were selected by committees of the University Faculty and senior administrators.

The Junior Faculty Excellence Award was a new award category for this year. The initial recipients of this award were Twinsburg resident Mate M. Soric, Pharm.D., assistant professor of pharmacy practice at NEOMED and internal medicine clinical pharmacist at University Hospitals Geauga Medical Center in Chardon and Hudson resident Yanqiao Zhang, M.D., assistant professor of integrative medical sciences at NEOMED. This award honors a faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary performance and has made noteworthy contributions to the NEOMED community in the areas of teaching, research and scholarly accomplishment and service.

Richard G. Barr, M.D., Ph.D., professor of radiology at NEOMED, received the Outstanding Research Award. Kenneth S. Rosenthal, Ph.D., professor of microbiology/immunology/biochemistry at NEOMED, was honored with the Liebelt/Wheeler Faculty Excellence Award.