Hudson Players' production of "Spamalot," which the theater staged this past spring, was one of two theaters selected to compete in the Ohio Community Theatre Association's statewide competition in Perrysburg Aug. 29, 30, 31 and Sept. 1.

The regional competition, which was at Hudson High School on June 14, featured seven theaters that performed a segment of a show which was staged during the season. Two theaters were selected to go to the state competition. Along with Hudson Players, the Olde Towne Hall Theatre in North Ridgeville also was selected to go to the state competition, for its production of "You're A Good Man, Charlie Brown." Wadsworth Footlighters' production of "The Secret Life Of Girls" was selected as the alternate.

Other participating theaters included Aurora Community Theatre, which staged "Steel Magnolias," Chagrin Valley Little Theatre, which staged "The Curious Savage," Wayne County Performing Arts Council, which staged "Sylvia," and Trumbull New Theatre, which staged "Send Me No Flowers."

Each theater staged an excerpt from their show, which was limited to 40 minutes.

In addition to the theater awards, recognition was given to actors, choreographers, directors, set designers, costumers and others involved with the production.


Phone: 330-541-9438

OCTA Awards

Hudson Players


Alex Marzullo - Merit in Choreography

Christopher Dolciato - Merit in Set Design

Dave Stebbins - Excellence in Directing

Michelle Dolicato & Gary Maher - Excellence in Producing

Roger Clary - Excellence in Musical Direction

Elizabeth Balla - Excellence in Costumes

The Cast - Excellence in Ensemble

Don Bernardo - Excellence in Musical Performance as King Arthur

Nina Takacs - Excellence in Vocal Performance as the Lady of the Lake

Brian Diehl - Excellence in Acting as Patsy

Marianne Karlson - Outstanding in Props

Eric Oswald, Adam Alderson, Ron Davis, and Jay Hill -

Merit in Vocal Performance in the Knight's Quartet

Chagrin Valley Little Theatre


Priscilla Kaczuk - Merit in Acting as Mrs. Savage

Laura Hart - Merit in Acting as Fairy May

Lisa Freebairn-Tarr - Merit in Acting as Mrs. Paddy

Bobby Thomas - Merit in Acting as Titus

Harold Crawford - Merit in Costumes

Wayne County Performing Arts Council


Jenny Karger - Merit in Acting as Sylvia

Tim Breiner - Merit in Acting as Phyllis

Linda Karger - Merit in Costumes

Olde Towne Hall Theatre


Vic DiAngelo - Excellence in Acting as Charlie Brown

Kyle Adam - Excellence in Acting as Linus

Meghan Foisy - Excellence in Acting as Sally

Stuart Landes - Merit in Acting as Snoopy

Bryan Bird and Michael Sapienza - Excellence in Musical Accompaniment

Props Crew - Merit in Props

Heidi Freas - Excellence in Directing

Deb Wentz - Excellence in Producing

Bryan Bird - Excellence in Musical Direction

Heidi & Emerson Freas - Excellence in Choreography

Robin Garrow, Deb Wentz & Heidi Freas - Excellence in Costumes

Kim Mihalik - Excellence in Musical Performance as Lucy

Sam Griffin - Excellence in Musical Performance as Schroeder

Steve Benefit - Outstanding in Set Design

The Cast - Excellence in Ensemble

Aurora Community Theatre


Barbara Rhoades - Merit in Directing

Paul Chenchak - Merit in Set Design

Marianne Gingras - Merit in Costumes

The Cast - Excellence in Ensemble

Trumbull New Theatre


Megan Browning - Merit in Acting as Judy Kimball

Tom DeNichols - Merit in Acting as Dr. Morrissey

Alicia Seng - Merit in Acting as a Girl

The Wadsworth Footlighters


Cory Ott - Excellence in Directing

The Wadsworth Footlighters - Excellence in Set Design

The Cast - Excellence in Ensemble

Kelsey Sandmann - Excellence in Acting as Abby

Katie Ridler - Excellence in Acting as Stephanie

Autum Ridler-Pippin - Excellence in Acting as Abby's Mom

Invitees to State Conference:

Spamalot - Hudson Players

You're A Good Man, Charlie Brown - Olde Towne Hall Theatre


The Secret Life Of Girls - Wadsworth Footlighters

Spirit of Community Theatre Award Winner

Dawna Kornick